Finding My Voice in 2015

January is at a mid-point.  Today as I was walking through my neighborhood — feeling the cool breeze upon my skin and admiring the contrast of the bare tree branches against the sun-scattered sky my thoughts drifted to the “new” year.  I began to think, what does 2015 actually mean to me?

I purposefully had not set a resolution for myself.  The idea of having one goal set in stone, and feeling like a failure if circumstances do not align to bring it to fruition, just no longer appeals to me.

Of course, I hope to be happier, healthier, and wiser as the coming year unfolds.  I believe most people aspire to this, and most resolutions fall into one of these categories.

A new year signifies opportunity.  It is almost as if the past year has been washed away, and we are left with a blank slate to create and mold our lives in the fashion which we chose.

Therefore, I have decided that instead of having one concrete resolution for this year, I will have a theme.

So therefore, as 2015 unfurls, the thesis upon which I have chosen to mold my life, is to: Find my true voice and be expressive with it.  I use the term “voice” a bit loosely.  I do not mean my speaking or singing voice.

The word voice I have chosen as a term relating to the essence of myself that I present to others, or my SELF.   My voice, is simply, my expression of who I am.

In 2015, I plan to slow down a bit — consider what things TRULY bring me joy, and savor them.  I plan to express my self, not whom society or anyone else expects me to be, but my true being.

There are numerous ways I can do this, through various forms of creative arts and expression.  The essence of who I am will surely change as the year progresses.  It will have it’s ups and downs and evolve in ways that I probably cannot even imagine at the moment.  However, I am very much looking forward to the journey.  I believe that the key to keep me on track with this theme is gratitude,  I must be appreciative of the rough spots in my life as well for they polish me.  Every moment is worthy of appreciation.

If at any point I lose my way — and feel myself drifted into the contrived aspects that society has in place for me, all I have to do is step back and start again.  That is the beauty of it, unlike a resolution, unless I decided to simply stop pursuing it, I cannot fail.

My wish for all of you in the coming year, is to take some time to get to know who YOU are.  Fall in love with that person. Appreciate the nuances of your personality, your quirks, your weirdness, your brilliance.  Embrace it all… and show it to the world with confidence.   Much love to each of you from the bottom of my heart.  Quotes-Graffiti-Banksy-Slogan-Achievements-2560x1600

Leave a Reply

